top of page

Swiss School!

Swiss School! Today I had the opportunity to attend a Swiss Elementary School. It was of particular interest to me because of my desire to obtain my Masters in Youth Development. A school in Switzerland is very similar to a school in the US, with a few exceptions. I was first impressed with the range of teaching ability. There are no music, art or gym teachers, so the scholastic teachers themselves fill this role. I happened to attend on a morning that the student’s were practicing several national songs on their harmonicas. It was great to see (and hear!) how wonderfully they played. I was also impressed with the “break” system they have in place. The student’s work for 45 minutes and then take a short break. The teacher’s use this time to meet with each other and take a break as well. I’m really glad I got to meet with the class. I look forward to my trip into Kindergarten tomorrow!

bottom of page